Analysis process to determine cross-media usage

Deutsche Post's NEXELLENT technology platform enables an analysis process that serves to determine key statistical indicators for cross-media usage.

The goal is to calculate statistics on the effects of physical direct mail (i.e. mailings) on Internet usage (i.e. website clicks).

A data-protection-compliant process

At no point in time individual users are identified by name – their identities are always protected.

The NEXELLENT technology was developed in compliance with data protection law. The legitimacy of NEXELLENT's data protection compliance has been certified by the EuroPriSe Certification authority. With the certification Deutsche Post intends to demonstrate that the process of analyzing cross-media usage is designed specifically to comply with data protection law and that it will follow data protection regulations into the future.

You can find extensive information about the European EuroPriSe Certification authority here:
https://www.european-privacy-seal.eu/

How does the analysis process based on the NEXELLENT technology work?

If a partner company of the NEXELLENT technology has your postal or billing address on file, the address is assigned a so-called microcell from Deutsche Post Direkt GmbH, a subsidiary of Deutsche Post. A microcell is made up on average of 6.6 households, making it impossible to identify individuals. Data matching is triggered as soon as you register on the homepage of one of the partner companies. The results of the data matching is a randomly generated code that is stored in a database. Parallel to the data matching process with Deutsche Post Direkt GmbH, a cookie is saved on your computer, which is linked to the randomly generated code. The cookie is valid for six months.

Internet usage is recorded at an aggregate level, which means that personal data – such as your name or email address – is not used in the statistical overview. It is impossible to create a personal profile. The data transfer requires the IP address, but it is transferred encoded and not used downstream in the process.

Personal data is protected:

  • By aggregating the data in microcells, it is impossible to create a personal profile of individual Internet users. Only aggregate information about Internet usage is used.
  • At no point in time are individual users identified by name. Their identities are always protected.

You can object to participation in the analysis process at the following link:
http://login.intelliad.de/nexellent-optout.php

You can give your express consent to participation in the analysis process – in particular the acceptance of cookies in your browser – at the following link:
http://login.intelliad.de/nexellent-optin.php

Messverfahren zur Erfassung crossmedialer Mediennutzung

Die NEXELLENT Technologie der Deutschen Post ermöglicht die Ermittlung statistischer Kennwerte zur crossmedialen Mediennutzung.

Ziel der Messung ist es, die Effekte physischer Werbesendungen, wie z.B. Mailings, auf die Internetnutzung, z.B. Webseitenaufrufe, statistisch zu bestimmen.

Datenschutzkonforme Messung

Beim Messverfahren auf Basis der NEXELLENT Technologie werden zu keinem Zeitpunkt einzelne Nutzer namentlich identifiziert. Die Identität der Internetnutzer bleibt immer geschützt.

Die NEXELLENT Technologie wurde unter der Beachtung des Datenschutzrechts entwickelt. Die datenschutzrechtliche Zulässigkeit des Messverfahrens ist von der EuroPriSe Certification authority zertifiziert. Die Zertifizierung des Messverfahrens der crossmedialen Mediennutzung bestätigt, dass das Verfahren in besonderem Maße datenschutzkonform ist und die Datenschutzbestimmungen nachhaltig umgesetzt werden.

Hier können Sie sich ausführlich über die europäische EuroPriSe Certification authority informieren: https://www.european-privacy-seal.eu/.

Wie funktioniert das Messverfahren auf Basis der NEXELLENT Technologie?

Im Rahmen des Messverfahrens wird Ihre bei einem Kooperationspartner der NEXELLENT Technologie hinterlegte Liefer- oder Rechnungsadresse einer so genannten Mikrozelle der Deutschen Post Direkt GmbH, einer Tochtergesellschaft der Deutschen Post, zugeordnet. Im Durchschnitt umfasst eine Mikrozelle 6,6 Haushalte und lässt somit keine Rückschlüsse auf einzelne Personen zu. Dieser Datenabgleich wird ausgelöst, sobald Sie sich auf der Homepage des Kooperationspartners angemeldet haben. Als Ergebnis des Datenabgleichs liegt eine zufällig generierte Kennziffer vor, die in einer Datenbank hinterlegt wird. Parallel zu diesem Datenabgleich mit der Deutschen Post Direkt GmbH wird auf Ihrem Rechner ein Cookie gespeichert, der auf die zufällig generierte Kennziffer verweist. Das Cookie hat eine Gültigkeit von 6 Monaten.

Das Internet-Nutzungsverhalten wird in aggregierter Form ausgewiesen, wobei aber keine personenbezogenen Daten - wie etwa Ihr Name oder Ihre E-Mail Adresse - in dieser statistischen Übersicht verwendet werden. Eine Profilbildung ist ausgeschlossen. IP-Adressen werden verschlüsselt im Rahmen des technisch notwendigen Datentransfers übertragen, aber nicht in dem weiteren Verfahren verwendet.

Persönliche Daten werden geschützt:

  • Durch die Aggregierung auf Mikrozellenebene ist eine Profilbildung zu einzelnen Internetnutzern ausgeschlossen. Es werden nur aggregierte Aussagen über das Internet-Nutzungsverhalten genutzt.
  • Zu keinem Zeitpunkt werden einzelne Nutzer namentlich identifiziert. Die Identität bleibt immer geschützt.

Sie können der Messung unter folgendem Link widersprechen:
http://login.intelliad.de/nexellent-optout.php

Sie können der Messung – insbesondere auch der Speicherung des Cookies in Ihrem Browser - unter folgendem Link auch explizit zustimmen:
http://login.intelliad.de/nexellent-optin.php