Skip to content

We will be reversing the temporary VAT rate reduction as planned on January 1, 2021.

Effective January 1, 2021, we will reverse the temporary VAT rate reduction introduced as part of the German government's stimulus package for the period July 1 to December 31, 2020. 

Products and services subject to value added tax will revert to their previous tax rate of 19% or 7% for the reduced rate, as planned.

Hinweisgrafik

Many of our products – such as individual letter mail items and parcels without additional services up to 10 kg – are exempt from VAT because they fall under the category of universal postal services*. Prices for these products therefore remain unaffected by the change in VAT.

More on products and prices:

Products with adjusted prices due to the VAT reduction – such as P.O. box, redirection and storage services, envelopes for “Plusbrief”, Packsets, and certain parcel and Express items – will be listed with their new prices in all price lists and in the Deutsche Post online shop. The new prices apply effective January 1, 2021, from which time they can be viewed in the online versions of “Leistungen und Preise” (services and prices) on our websites.

Frequently asked questions

General

Letter mail

Parcel

Express

Portoberater

Calculate and buy your postage online now

For domestic and international mail and parcel services.

Calculate postage now

Laptop

Shop for Deutsche Post products conveniently online

24/7 in Deutsche Post’s online shop.

Deutsche Post online shop

* Universal postal services are intended to cover the basic postal needs of the general public. The EU VAT Directive states that universal postal service products must be exempt from VAT, and this is reflected in Germany’s Value-Added Tax Act (UStG).
A full list of all current prices can be found here

Zum Seiteninhalt

Wir heben die Mehrwertsteuersenkung wie geplant zum 1. Januar 2021 auf.

Zum 1. Januar 2021 werden wir die im Konjunkturpaket der Bundesregierung beschlossene und vom 1. Juli bis 31. Dezember 2020 befristete Senkung der Mehrwertsteuer wie geplant aufheben. 

Für die mehrwertsteuerpflichtigen Produkte und Services gilt dann wieder der Steuersatz von 19%, bzw. von 7% beim ermäßigten Steuersatz.

Hinweisgrafik

Viele unserer Produkte wie z.B. Einzelbriefsendungen und Pakete ohne Zusatzservices bis 10 kg sind grundsätzlich von der Mehrwertsteuer befreit, da diese dem sogenannten Universaldienst* unterliegen. Die Preise dieser Produkte ändern sich daher durch die Steueranpassung nicht.

Hier geht’s zu den Produkten und Preisen:

Produkte, bei denen sich die Preise aufgrund der Mehrwertsteueranpassung ändern, wie z.B. das Postfach, der Nachsende- und Lagerservice, Umschläge für Plusbriefe, Packsets sowie bestimmte Paket- und Expresssendungen werden selbstverständlich in allen Preislisten sowie im Shop der Deutschen Post mit den neuen Preisen ausgewiesen. Die neuen Preise können Sie ab 1. Januar 2021 der ab dann gültigen Online-Version der Leistungen und Preise auf unseren Webseiten entnehmen.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Allgemein

Brief

Paket

Express

Portoberater

Jetzt Porto berechnen und online kaufen

Für Briefe und Pakete national und international.

Porto jetzt berechnen

Laptop

Erledigen Sie Ihre Posteinkäufe bequem online

Rund um die Uhr im Shop der Deutschen Post.

Shop der Deutschen Post

* Mit dem Universaldienst soll das Grundbedürfnis der Bevölkerung an Postdienstleistungen gedeckt werden. Produkte des postalischen Universaldienstes sind nach der EU-Mehrwertsteuersystemrichtlinie zwingend von der Mehrwertsteuer zu befreien. Entsprechend ist dies im Umsatzsteuergesetz so geregelt.
Eine Gesamtliste aller aktuellen Preise finden sie hier